Alone Time is a Good Time for Teachers

Its good to look at the experience of other teachers and relate to what they’ve been through. In this blog, I found a list of some things that describe this particular teacher and one of the things that stuck out to me was the don’t let school life consume you. When I was student teaching, I was striving to do the best job that I could I forgot about everything else going on in my life and put in several hours preparing lessons and meticulously analyzing every aspect of my activities. What I found out was it hurt my relationships with family, friends, and significant others. We have to set a time aside where we don’t look at anything school related and give ourselves some me time. That may be hard for teachers who are involved in extracurricular activities like clubs or sport teams. But, if you don’t then your mind won’t be able to rest and will lead to several nervous breakdowns. Maybe an hour doing something that you find to be fun, relaxing, or even therapeutic would suffice. For me its either playing my guitar or reading a book. It clears my head and when I go back to planning a lesson I feel much better about preparing it. Its just one of those things we don’t think about or consider important, but it is of vital importance to teachers to find a time to relax.

No Responses to “Alone Time is a Good Time for Teachers”

Leave a Reply

