Keeping Parents Informed

Most schools nowadays have a website of some sort where parents have access to lesson plans that are posted online to keep up with their child’s assignments.  I used our website at the middle school I student taught at to keep the parents up to date and what their students needed to turn in.  However, not all schools are fortunate enough to have their own website.  The solution to that problem is simple: sign up for Google Docs and post your lesson plan on a blog.  You can synch your Google Docs account up with your online blog and parents can view what their child needs to turn in and get involved in their academic life.  Keeping parents involved helps provide more opportunities for success.

Cite Source: http://remoteaccess.typepad.com/remote_access/2007/09/planning-with-g.html

5 Responses to “Keeping Parents Informed”

  1. Google docs? Does that just mean that you can post word documents to a blog (or link them) and then blog about them. Kind of like an email to the web for all to read? I am liking this.

  2. We have STI Home at our school but the problem with it is we can’t access it from home as teachers. Only parents and students can, so to be able to post it has to be done at school.

    I like this idea of using Google. Most people use google anyway. Now that I know about blogging this will be easier! Sounds great!

  3. From what I gather, you can use Google Docs to create word processing documents and spreadsheets to post on your blog. Better interface than STI, if you ask me.

  4. Excellent idea! I had wanted to have access to the school website to post classroom events, but it is complicated to get that access. This idea takes care of that and lets me be my own administrator. I am an avid Google user and supporter. Thanks for posting this tip to the blog.

  5. My principal gave me a login from home to do my lesson plans in STI. They never showed up on the school site. I don’t know why. I like the idea of blogging much better. STI site is complicated to navigate for some parents. Next year, I think we are going to some other program. I hope that it is much more user friendly for teachers to use at home. I have less distractions at home than at school.


Leave a Reply

