RSS in Plain English Video, ‘gators, and personalized webpages for students.

Today, I was able to watch the video “RSS in Plain English” while eating my bowl of Honey Bunches of Oats this morning and discovered how easy it is to subscribe to a blog or the news. All it takes is a click of the mouse on the orange icon in the address bar, few additional clicks to decide what you want to subscribe, and voilà I obtained a new subscription. I tried it out with a news feed from CNN and it only literally took me two clicks. Amazing!

In addition to my video experience, I read a article on Remote Access about students using personalize webpages for class. The webpage would allow students to organize applications, RSS feeders, and personalized information all on one page. All students could use something like this to organize their resources for a project or blogs for a class. Plus, they can set up a wiki for a project that students they are working with in another classroom could be able to see and offer insight. All of this adds fuel to my fire to want to start using this kind of technology in my classroom!

Nuts and Bolts #4 Personalized Webpages in the Classroom – http://remoteaccess.typepad.com/remote_access/

4 Responses to “RSS in Plain English Video, ‘gators, and personalized webpages for students.”

  1. I agree wholly about using this type of technology in the classrooms. I think the days of writing in a classroom are over. I think that having students jot down their thoughts where we can put them is really neat. English class would have been a whole lot better if we could of blogged about the books we were reading instead of reports.

  2. Ahhh…the good old days of writing. I know all you guys are educators, but I’m not yet. So until I can possibly get my degrees and teach in a college setting, I’m going to continue to be a writer. I have my BA in Professional Writing so sometimes there is nothing better than sitting down with a pen and paper and writing thoughts. It relaxes me more than a computer ever can. But I’m not disagreeing with you guys. I do see the benefits of using computers and aggregators in classrooms. This has already made my life a lot easier and I’m sure it will help your students and they will greatly appreciate it as well. But as for me, I’m still going to keep pens and notebooks on hand.

  3. While blogging may be convenient for a lot of people, I agree with nataliesmommy that we should keep using pens, pencils, and notebooks to write. One of the cornerstones of education for any student is to learn to read and write since it applies to every discipline. To avoid learning that essential component will cause problems in the future. We cannot simply forget about writing with a pencil because technology is on the rise. Students need to be prepared to write without a computer because technology is not always reliable and everyone should have a backup plan. Plus, I think writing with a pencil seems to be more personal than with a computer, but that’s just me.

  4. Interesting that the inference being drawn is that it must be either-or, or that somewhere there’s an implication that writing with a computer is somehow “better”…

    What it is, is accessible.

    You can’t share the notes you write on paper without first translating them into another form — if only to make a copy so you don’t lose the original.

    You can’t index your paper notes easily. It can, of course, be done, but the length of time it takes is geometrically related to the length of the writing.

    You can’t edit your writing as easily on paper. One of the key skills in good writing is the editing process, and one that is often short-changed, especially in school settings, because editing with paper and pen is an horrendously time consuming process.

    It *is* easier to write on paper because the threshhold technology is lower, generally. The process of creating paper is simpler than is required to create computers. Likewise, pens and pencils.

    You only need some kind of light, the pencil, the paper, and something to say in order to write on paper. You don’t need electricity to make them work.

    But both require the same levels of language, logic, concept, and construct to work. The fine motor skills necessary to create the marks on the paper are an interesting side issue. On balance, I would maintain that typing, because it requires the use of two hands, stimulates both sides of the brain and, in activation, creates some interesting opportunities for collusion between right- and left-brain processing. It’s just an opinion …

    Excellent discussion!

    NL


Leave a Reply

